Being Vegetarian in Japan
Japanese cuisine hosts a variety of cuisine for vegetarians, but at times it can be difficult to communicate your dietary preferences to the restaurant staff. This guide will give you useful information on enjoying vegetarian dishes while staying in Japan, as well as some local restaurants that cater to vegetarians.
Japanese food contains many vegetables and tofu, but because the culture relies so heavily on fish, there may be many items that contain fish or other animal products as a base ingredient. For example, dashi is Japanese soup stock that is made from fish, and is widely used in Japanese food. Katsuobushi, or bonito (fish) flakes, are also sprinkled on top of many dishes. There is also general confusion between what a vegetarian is; is fish permitted? Are dairy products acceptable?
The most important thing to remember is to communicate clearly what you can and cannot eat to your host family/restaurant staff. Bear in mind that you will have to be much clearer than in other countries. For example, even if you request “no meat”, you may be brought food with chicken or pork in. We recommend listing all the items you cannot eat, to be sure. If you are a strict vegetarian or vegan, we recommend going to one of the restaurants listed below or cooking your own food as much as possible.
If you are very worried about eating out, you can ask a teacher or friend to write down in Japanese the names of all foods you cannot eat, and carry this with you when you go out, to show to restaurant staff.
For comprehensive articles on being a vegetarian in Japan, refer to the Tokyo Vegetarian Guide.
Here are examples of some ‘safe foods’:
- Soba/Udon/Ramen (Note: Fukuoka’s famous Hakata ramen is meat-based)
- Sushi (cucumber, natto, avocado, etc.), onigiri
- Miso soup
- Rice, okonomiyaki
- Snacks: mochi (rice cake), senbei (crackers), anko/azuki (sweet bean paste), manju (sweet bun)
- Sake, tea
[Watashi wa bejitarian desu.]
I do not eat any meat at all.
I do not eat meat, dairy, or eggs.
Can you make this without meat?
Which are the dishes without meat?
I'm allergic to X.
I can eat tofu, egg, cheese, natto, konnyaku, mochi, and all vegetables.
X is NOT OK.
X is OK.
Beef --- Gyuuniku
Restaurants in Fukuoka
Refer to the map for directions from the school:
より大きな地図で vegetarian restaurants を表示
Japanese cuisine, close to Ohori Park. 15 minutes from school on foot.
Fukuoka-shi Chuo-ku Jounai 7-14
All-organic burger shop, including beans burger and tofu burger. Great french fries and onion rings with a huge selection of dips. 10 minutes from school on foot, well worth the walk.
Fukuoka-shi Chuo-ku Watanabe-dori 5-26-4
Open 8:00 - 23:00
Nanak Indian Restaurant
Quite high-priced but good Indian food, really close to school
Fukuoka-shi Chuo-ku Maizuru 1-1-4
Macriobiotic natural foods.
福岡県福岡市中央区大名1-10-16-1 YUMIC大名 3F
Fukuoka-shi Chuo-ku Daimyo 1-10-16-1 YUMIC Daimyo 3F
Natural Café Vege Garden prepares macrobiotic dishes that use specially-sourced organic ingredients and seasonings. No refined sugar, eggs or milk are used for the vegetarian dishes.
Address: 1-3-29 1st floor, Takamiya,Minami-ku, Fukuoka-shi
Tel & Fax: 092-524-7412
A few vegetarian options on the menu, and two locations within walking distance of school.
No no Budou
All-you-can-eat healthy buffet in the IMS building on Watanabe-doori. Not cheap, but a hige selection of foods.
IMS Building, 13th floor
Getting Some in Japan – A Japanese Survival Guide. Ludvik, Anna. Japanzine, November 2005.
How to Eat at a Japanese Restaurant the Vegan Way. Kato, Hiroko. Vegetarian Journal, 1999. http://www.vegietokyo.com/info4vegie/articles/article2.html
Japanese Lessons IppoIppo – Vegetarian’s Page. http://www.hi-ho.ne.jp/kondos/vangetarianspage.htm